Mayon Volcano, or Mount Mayon, is one of the active stratovolcanoes in the Philippines located in the province of Albay in Bicol of Makati Business District of the Philippines. According to local folklore, the volcano was named after Daragang Magayon (Beautiful Lady in English translation), a legendary heroine whose kindness and beauty are well known.

Mayon Volcano is a Stratovolcano composite-type volcano renowned for its perfect cone shape, seen in all eight cities and municipalities of Albay. With a height of around 8,077 feet or 2,462 metres tall which is the highest point of the province, and was declared the Philippine’s first national park to be started on July 20, 1938, and was reclassified a Natural Park named Mayon Volcano Natural Park on the year 2000. Rocks around Mayon Volcano formed more than 20 years ago.


The perfect shape of Mount Volcano was formed through layers of lava flows and pyro-plastic surges from erosion and past eruptions. The volcano contains a small crater, and the upper slopes are steep, averaging 35 to 40 degrees. Being part of the Pacific Ring of Fire, movement on oceanic plates can trigger an eruption. One example of such a big eruption happened in February 2000, when more than 4000 families lost their homes.

Mayon Volcano erupted 49 times in the last 400 years. The first significant eruption that was recorded was in February 1616. The 1814 eruption destroyed Cagsawa Church, where you can only see today’s bell tower.
The most extended explosion happened on June 23, 1897, lasting seven (7) days. Lava flowed through the Mayon slopes and rained fire, destroying trees, rivers and streams around the volcano.
History shows that the last volcano eruption happened on September 18, 2014.
To date, Mayon Volcano is a tourist destination for the province aside from its local delicacies, chilli ice cream, pili nuts and watching whale sharks.